Japanese Brocade, Sunken Sonobe

Some other random models. Playing around with a variety of colors.

japanese brocade

Usually, people just make cubes using the Japanese Brocade model, but I saw this post on flickr, and thought that I would make one of the 30 unit models.

It’s really difficult to put together the model, as everything just tends to fall apart. I had to glue the pieces together to make it work, but maybe some more skilled person could have done without it.

I wanted to use up the last of the notepad paper, so I did a color combination of white, red, orange, yellow, yellow, and more yellow. I did it in the six color tiling of the icosahedron from Meenakshi Mukerji’s Marvelous Modular Origami. Well, I thought that it would feel like a flame coloration, but unfortunately, it didn’t turn out so well. Everything is way too light. If I’d used brighter colors, maybe, but oh well.

September 09, 2009, 22:53

sunken sonobe (2)

Inspired by this post on flickr. They said that you can do it using any of the sonobe variants, but I just stuck to the basic version.

Colors done in blues, greens, and purples. I didn’t really like how the color tiling came out for the Japanese Brocade, so I tried to pool the colors more. I think it looks a little patchy, but actually, I like this model a lot. The sunken peaks make a fun shape!

2 Comments »

  1. Tine said

    Hi,

    I’m always happy, to see more and more people folding the sunken sonobe. As the link to the instruction is no longer working, here is a new one:
    http://kalami.blog.de/2009/05/07/sunken-sonobe-6075052/

    and to show you, how to combine different styles, look at these:
    http://kalami.blog.de/2010/03/29/sonobe-variation-8270842/
    http://kalami.blog.de/2008/08/20/gar-nich-wahr-4614790/

    • eikosi said

      Thanks so much for the update. and ooh, wow! I really like the effect when you combine the sunken sonobe with other variations. The added dimension is really cool!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

