Paint Chip Icosahedron

Just settled into the college dorms! I have so much stuff, even though I wasn’t able to bring all of my paper supplies. So far, the suitemates seem okay, though I’m not sure about all of them.

I was going to transfer the posts here to wordpress, but for some reason the import function isn’t working for me, so I guess that I’ll just have to manually copy over the entries later.

There’s a dance tonight, so I’ll probably be going with L, D, and people, then to the afterparty. Looking forward to Tuesday movies with TH and W.

icosahedron paint chip

Anyways, mini-project is this icosahedron from paintchips! It’s just scored and glued together, so its nothing fancy, but I think that it looks good for that amount of work! Pictures to come later.

3 Comments »

  1. did you use a template to cut it out?
    I have to do a paper “melon” for class and I need a template to design the textured surface … so if you do have a template for that (or know where I can get one), please please let me know.

    thanks. and it looks great.

  2. oh! i’m sry, it’s really late at night and I had barely any sleep so I didn’t realize its the same page from you … haha … yea, this looks great! I’m looking for something simple and this works! Hope to hear back from you soon with advice and possibly a template. 🙂 Thanks again.

    • eikosi said

      oh, don’t worry about it! I know how sleep deprivation is…
      For this, you would need 10 pieces of paper, cut in a 1:3 ratio rectangle. Measure out two equilateral triangles, with height of the 1 side, so it would look something like this: |/\/| . Crease on the lines, and then you glue it together, connecting to form the icosahedron.
      I suppose if you’re looking for a template, you could just measure out the triangles on one piece of paper, creating the same connectivity?
      Hope you can work with this info! Good luck with your project!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

