Unit Polyhedron Origami: Regular Icosahedron

August 30, 2009, 15:43

Sorry for the double-post today, but it’s my dad’s birthday! I made him a model from Tomoko Fuse’s Unit Polyhedron Origami, the Regular Icosahedron.

icosahedron birthday (2)
icosahedron birthday

I used some shiny birthday wrapping paper, hoping that "Happy" and "Birthday" would show up on the faces, but no such luck. Still, I like how this model shows off the paper’s design in a clean and minimal way. I think that it seems very modern!

When I first assembled the model, I only connected it with the joints. I just put the last piece in, when the whole thing just broke apart! Apparently, the wrapping paper is too smooth, and doesn’t have enough grip to stabilize the model. I ended up using glue on the joints then reassembling. I accidently left some gaps by gluing the joint too far out, but even so, I think it turned out pretty well.

2 Comments »

  1. how cool! Do you have a template or a way to fold this?
    I have to make a paper melon for class, but need the inside to be hollow and I’m struggling to find a good template…

    • eikosi said

      Thanks! If you’re looking for instructions for this particular model, you can find them in the book Unit Polyhedron Origami by Tomoko Fuse. To just make something with a similar shape, you can try looking at this: https://eikosi.wordpress.com/2009/09/20/paint-chip-icosahedron/

      If that’s something you can work with, let me know, and I can try to explain how to do that one! Good luck with your project!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

