Rhombic Icosahedron

rhombic icosahedron

Followed instructions from a Flickr image that I saved at one point, but I can’t remember the author now. If anyone knows who the designer is, let me know?

Used a cute yellow bunny print paper from the care package that my grandma sent to me! There are still a ton of pieces left, so you can expect a lot more pieces to come using this type of paper!

The model is really simple to fold, and only took me around 1.5 hours to finish making the pieces. Assembly is a little fiddly, so you have to be delicate when putting all the pieces together. It holds without glue, so you can get it to work! I actually like this model a lot, but I think it came out a bit smaller than I expected.

4 Comments »

  1. Christina said

    I’ve been following your blog for quite some time and I always find your page inspiring! (especially when I’m struggling with a new diagram!)

    If you ever figure out where the model comes from let me know! I would love to give it a shot. And I am digging the bunny paper! My friend just sent me some cute paper and I haven’t figured out what I want to use it for yet 😛

    • eikosi said

      Thanks so much! There’s so many amazing origami pieces out there, that I’m really honored that my stuff inspires you!

      I think I’ll try to search for the model’s designer, but if I can’t find that, I’ll look for the original picture on Flickr. I’ll be sure to let you know, once I find either. 🙂

      Don’t you love the people who feed your paper fetishes? hehe. Hope that you’ll be able to match yours to a model!

  2. […] gum foil, modular origami, origami ·Tagged origami Haven’t found the author of the Rhombic Icoasahedron yet, but I found the original Flickr picture I was looking at, here, done by […]

  3. Steffi's said

    The Rhombic Triacontahedron is a fascinating polyhedron.Thirty rhombic faces make up the surfaces. I found the same easy way to fold the 30 modules, it looks like a little kusudama. Greetings from Switzerland http://www.flickr.com/photos/71015858@N00/sets/72157614078922543/

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

