More Folding with Gum Wrappers

ah, sorry about the delay again. Life this quarter has been quite hectic. I’ve been mostly writing on my other blog, so I felt like something here should get an update too! These models are all from last year, so they’re not really “new”, but I thought that I would post about them anyways. Four models this time, all from Tomoko Fuse’s Unit Polyhedron Origami.

IMGP5065
90 unit, double sided concave hexagonal ring unit (?). gum wrappers.
This one was hard to assemble, and wasn’t especially sturdy. If not handled gently, it would come apart, and after I transported it from back home from school, I had to reassemble, using tape on the inside to keep it in shape. Would definitely try making something like this again, but I’ll have to collect a lot more wrappers, haha.

IMGP5070
30 unit, double sided convex hexagonal ring unit (?). gum wrappers.
Nothing especially difficult about this piece, but it was hard to figure out exactly how to string it up.

IMGP5066
30 unit, diagonally folded triangle unit. gum wrappers.
I think that this model comes together really well with gum wrappers! Putting the last piece in place is a challenge, since it’s difficult to do without causing folds and other dents in the other peaks.

IMGP5080
30 unit icosahedron, candy wrapper.
This one was made from the wrappers from the gummy candies! Since the pieces were cut small, it was very difficult to assemble, compounded by the fact that the foil wrappers tended to curl and did not keep shape well. I ended up using blue tape on the inside to keep it together. It came out cute, but I think that if I were to use the wrappers again, I’d use larger pieces.

2 Comments »

  1. Thank you very much for all your help. I ordered the book on Amazon and hopefully I’ll get it soon to start working on my project. I’ll definitely let you know how it goes.
    I needed the inside to be hollow because I need to build other parts to it … building stuff isn’t my thing so I’m kinda frustrated cuz I dont’ know where to start, but thanks for your help. You’ve given me a few ideas so we’ll see. 🙂

    • eikosi said

      No problem! I hope that your project will turn out well! Do let me know how it turns out! 😀 I really like Tomoko Fuse’s book, but if you need other resources, I think that Miyuki Kawamura’s Polyhedron Origami for Beginners might also be useful for building simple shapes.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

